GNRC Launches South Corridor Transportation Study

Davidson, Williamson and Maury Counties Seeking Public Input to Improve Connectivity

Building on the regional interest to embrace emerging technologies and to expand public transportation options across Middle Tennessee, the Greater Nashville Regional Council (GNRC), WeGo Public Transit, and TDOT have kicked-off the South Corridor Study to help turn recent transportation plans into shovel ready projects that can modernize area roadways and address growing traffic congestion and safety concerns.

GNRC has contracted a team of consultants led by WSP USA Inc. to assist with the study. GNRC serves as the federally-designated regional transportation planning organization and is responsible for convening local elected officials with TDOT and area transit agencies for the purposes of developing and adopting transportation plans.   The current plan, adopted by area mayors and state officials in 2016, allocates more than $8 billion in anticipated federal, state, and local revenue to a variety of transportation projects between now and 2040 including highway expansions, public transit projects, walking and bicycling facilities, and technology upgrades for better traveler information and traffic management.

As part of the ongoing regional planning efforts, WeGo Public Transit (formerly Regional Transit Authority of Middle Tennessee) worked closely with residents, businesses, and community leaders to adopt a more detailed transit master plan, called “nMotion,” in 2016. The South Corridor was identified as a top priority in both the multi-modal regional transportation plan and the more detailed transit master plan.

The Study will engage residents and business owners along the fast-growing corridor connecting communities in Davidson, Williamson and Maury counties to refine the recommendations from regional planning efforts and to identify projects that can compete for funding. The Study will evaluate a variety of options along Interstate 65, US Highway 31 / State Route 6 (Franklin Road), and the CSX railway.  The corridor includes rapidly developing neighborhoods like Cool Springs, Nashville’s Wedgwood Houston, The Gulch, and others.

Columbia Mayor Chaz Molder stated, “I am excited that the Columbia is working in partnership with our neighboring communities to lead this effort. As we strive for our city to reach its full potential, tackling transportation connections to Williamson and Davidson Counties is critical, and I encourage all residents to participate in this process.”

The South Corridor Transportation Study will be introduced at a series of community meetings in Maury, Williamson, and Davidson Counties. The public is encouraged to stop by these locations any time between 5:30 p.m. and 8 p.m.  Additional details are available at

  • Maury County – Monday, April 29, Memorial Building, 308 W 7th St, Columbia
  • Williamson County – Tuesday, April 30, Williamson County Public Library, 1314 Columbia Ave, Franklin
  • Williamson County – Thursday, May 2, Brentwood Library, 8109 Concord Rd, Brentwood 
  • Davidson County – Monday, May 6, Adventure Science Center, 800 Fort Negley Blvd, Nashville

“It is no secret that Spring Hill is experiencing significant growth,” said Spring Hill Mayor Rick Graham. “One of the most visible impacts of that growth is the stress on our infrastructure and I am hopefully the recommendations from this study will provide a path forward to improve connectivity in and out of our city.”

About GNRC:

The Greater Nashville Regional Council is one of nine development districts across the state. It serves as the primary forum for collaboration among mayors and county executives from 52 cities and 13 counties across Middle Tennessee. The Regional Council programming includes economic and community development, policy, regional research and data analysis, community planning, and aging and disability services. The Regional Council footprint includes Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Houston, Humphreys, Montgomery, Robertson, Rutherford, Stewart, Sumner, Trousdale, Williamson, and Wilson, and all incorporated municipalities and metropolitan governments located within these counties. For more information on the Greater Nashville Regional Council visit